District allocation of additional Police resources announced

District allocation of additional Police resources announced

National News

Commissioner Mike Bush today confirmed how the first tranche of new constabulary staff will be allocated throughout New Zealand during the next 12 months as part of the Government's four-year, $388 million Safer Communities Package.  

From 1 July 2017, 177 staff will be allocated to the 12 Districts; 31 to the Royal New Zealand Police College (RNZPC) to support increased recruitment efforts; 1 to Maori, Pacific and Ethnic Services (MPES); and 11 new staff will be deployed to focus on national and international organised crime.

Nationally, Police will see an increase of 880 sworn and 245 non-sworn staff over four years.  Sworn staff will be recruited during the next four years from July 2017, with approximately 220 new additional recruits added per year.

Location Year One (2017/18) constabulary allocation
Northland 20
Tamaki Makaurau (Waitemata, Auckland City and Counties Manukau districts) 56
Waikato 24
Bay of Plenty 15
Eastern 19
Central 14
Wellington 10
Tasman 5
Canterbury 10
Southern 4
Organised Crime 11

“These additional officers will be used to target and catch offenders, prevent harm and victimisation and provide a more responsive Police service to the community.”“Allocations have been agreed with District Commanders, taking into account projected population growth, changing crime patterns and areas of increasing demand,” says Commissioner Bush.

Further detail about each Police district’s staff allocation are in the links below:


Tamaki Makaurau (Waitemata, Auckland City and Counties Manukau districts)


Bay of Plenty







In April this year, Commissioner Bush outlined how all regions of New Zealand would be boosted by additional Police staff and policing services (including 24/7 police presence in 20 regional areas; additional resources for rural policing; reducing family harm; and fighting organised crime).


Issued by Police Media Centre