Neighbourhood Policing Teams

Neighbourhood Policing Teams (NPTs) are small teams of police officers that work with communities in neighbourhoods where people are particularly likely to be victims of crimes and crashes. There are 33 NPTs throughout New Zealand.

NPTs aim to prevent and reduce crime and road crashes in their communities. They also work to reduce the number of individuals and families who are victims and repeat victims of crime.

To do this, NPTs have a highly visible and accessible presence within their communities. This helps them form partnerships with their communities, so they can identify issues and prevent problems from escalating. Local knowledge and intelligence collection helps NPTs target known offenders and direct resources to tackle crime or the threat of crime.

One important result is that communities are, and feel, safer.

NPT contact details

NPTs rely on good communication with their communities. They have dedicated mobile phones so that people can contact them easily.

Auckland City

Glen Innes / Pt England NPT

Office: Mount Wellington
Team leader: Kevin Reynolds
P (09) 526 7300

Rosebank / Waterview NPT

Office: Avondale
Team leader: Timothy Lockwood
(09) 820 5701

Bay of Plenty

Team name: Tauhara Paetiki NPT
Office: Taupo
Team leader: Shane McNally
M 021 191 0062

Team name: Western Heights NPT
Office: Rotorua
Team leader: Steven Sutton
M 021 191 3638


Team name: Puriri NPT
Office: Whanganui
Team leader: Kevin Smith
M 021 191 5497

Counties Manukau

Team name: Clendon NPT
Office: Manurewa
Team leader: Benton Ostler
M 021 191 0558

Team name: East Tamaki NPT
Office: Otara
Team leader: Lyon-Marcel Dunn
M 021 191 0934

Team name: Flat Bush NPT
Office: Counties Manukau East Area HQ
Team leader: David Frew
M 021 192 0735

Team name: Homai NPT
Office: Manurewa
Team leader: Nikorima Te Miha
M 021 191 3730

Team name: Mangere NPT
Office: Mangere
Team leader: Andrew Wallace
M 021 191 0807

Team name: Mangere East NPT
Office: Mangere
Team leader: Peter Kerr
M 021 191 0848

Team name: Mangere South NPT
Office: Mangere
Team leader: -
M -

Team name: Otahuhu NPT
Office: Otahuhu
Team leader: Matthew Child
M 021 190 4464

Team name: Otara / Ferguson NPT
Office: Counties Manukau East Area HQ
Team leader: Robert Smith
M 021 191 0687

Team name: Papakura NPT
Office: Pukekohe
Team leader: Sgt Steve Mariu
M 021 191 0522

Team name: Pukekohe NPT
Office: Pukekohe
Team leader: John Hill
M 021 191 2162

Team name: Takanini NPT
Office: Papakura
Team leader: Leighton Morehu
M 021 190 4631

Team name: Wiri NPT
Office: Manurewa
Team leader: Hamish Chapman
M 021 191 2007


Team name: Flaxmere West NPT
Office: Flaxmere
Team leader: Matt King
Facebook: Flaxmere West NPT
M 021 191 3511

Team name: Maraenui NPT
Office: Maraenui
Team leader: Philip Rowden
M 021 191 3342

Team name: Outer Kaiti NPT - Gisborne
Office: Kaiti
Team leader: Gregory Lexmond
M 021 191 3494


Team name: Otangarei NPT
Office: Whangarei
Team leader: John Larkin
M 021 190 6243

Team name: Te Hiku O Te Ika NPT
Office: Mid-Far North Area HQ
Team leader: Geoffrey Ryan
M 021 190 7840 


Team name: Invercargill NPT
Office: Invercargill South
Team leader: Brock Davis
P 03 215 0300

Team name: South Dunedin NPT
Office: Dunedin South
Team leader: Trevor Thomson
M 021 191 5116


Team name: Fairfield / Enderley NPT
Office: Hamilton North
Team leader: Craig Taylor
M 021 191 1066

Team name: Huntly West NPT
Office: Huntly
Team leader: John McCarthy
M 021 191 1275


Team name: Henderson CBD NPT
Office: Henderson Station
Team leader: Dan Weir
M 021 192 3469

Team name: Starling Park NPT
Office: Henderson Station
Team leader: Keki Wilson
M 021 192 1977


Team name: Cannons Creek NPT
Office: Cannons Creek CCB
Team leader: [TBA]

Team name: Naenae NPT
Office: Naenae
Team leader: [TBA]