Tasman Police District

View larger map of Tasman police district in pop up box.The Tasman Police District covers 70,000 km2 of territory, encompassing the northern and most of the western portion of the South Island.

There are 22 police stations in our district. Six of these are sole-charge stations. Sole-charge officers can be responsible for a large area.

The Murchison officer's patch, for example, extends in a 100 km radius from the town.

Tasman District news

See the latest news from Tasman District.

Social media

Nelson, Marlborough, West Coast Police Facebook Page

@TasmanPoliceNZ Twitter page


Find a police station in Tasman district

Tasman District contact form

For all media enquiries please contactPolice Media Team

Commanders and headquarters

District Commander: Superintendent Mike Johnson
District Headquarters: Monro State Building, Bridge Street, Nelson

Area commanders and headquarters

Nelson Bays area

Commander: Inspector Mathew Arnold-Kelly
Headquarters: Nelson Central Police Station
P (03) 546 3840

West Coast area

Commander: Inspector Melanie Aitken
Headquarters: Greymouth Police Station
P (03) 768 1600

Marlborough area

Commander: Inspector Simon Feltham
Headquarters: Blenheim Police Station
P (03) 578 5279