Kia Kaha (for years 7–8)

Through Kia Kaha students develop strategies for respectful relationships where bullying behaviours are not tolerated.

The New Zealand Police recommends that schools use the learning activities in Kia Kaha within a whole-school approach. Before running learning activities, please read information about implementing a whole-school approach as described in an  whole-school approach as described in an implementation booklet (PDF, 1.4MB).

What students will learn

These year 7–8 resources will help students to learn:

  • about the impact of bullying
  • a range of personal skills to prevent bullying
  • what they can do if they have been or are being affected by bullying behaviour.

Four focus areas

The learning activities are arranged in four focus areas.

Focus area 1: No more bullying

Bullying is a problem that will not go away unless addressed effectively. Students identify bullying, realise that it is unacceptable and take positive steps to create a bully-free environment. [Updated 2017]

Focus area 2: Knowing and respecting others

Students learn about discrimination linked to cultural difference, sexual orientation, gender, academic ability, personal growth, age and disabilities. They identify the hurt attached to such discrimination.

Focus area 3: Bully-free zones

Students consider the importance of a sense of well-being, with freedom from bullying. They decide on features of a bully-free class and school and take steps to put these into practice.

Focus area 4: A gathering in our bully-free zone

Students share what they have learnt in Kia Kaha.