Thursday, 12 June 2003 - 9:05am |
Auckland City

Top three new constables go to Auckland area

3 min read

Forty new constables will shortly join Police ranks in Auckland after being awarded eight of the thirteen prizes at their graduation. The Graduation Parade for the Sir Wilson Whineray Wing 210 will take place at The Royal New Zealand Police College in Porirua today at 2pm.

• 78 recruits will graduate -- 55 males and 23 females.
• 40 recruits will go to the Auckland districts.
• Recruits will go to North Shore Waitakere (12), Counties Manukau (7), Auckland City (21), Northland (6), Waikato (5), Bay of Plenty (5), Central (8), Wellington (7), Canterbury (5) and Southland (2).

Prize winners:

• Minister’s Prize for First in Wing was awarded to Constable Drew Bennett posted to North Shore/ Waitakere District. Constable Bennett was also awarded the Position Association Prize for Section Achievement, Section One.

• Commissioner’s Prize for Second in Wing was awarded to Constable Andrew Owens posted to the North Shore Waitakere District at Takapuna.

• Patron’s Prize for Third in Wing was awarded to Constable Douglas Koekemoer who is posted to Counties/Manukau District.

• Constable Lisa Norton won the Prater Memorial Practical Trophy. She is posted to North Shore/Waitakere District.

• The Physical Education Trophy was awarded to Constable Stuart Joy posted to Canterbury District.

• The Meltzer Prize for Weapon Training was awarded to Constable Matthew Cotching posted to Northland district.

Police Association Prizes for Sectional Achievement:

This prize is awarded to an individual from each section who, in the collective view of the members of the section and the wing instructors, made the greatest contribution to the overall success of the team.

Section One As mentioned, Constable Drew Bennett who also won the Minister’s Prize for First in Wing. (posted to North Shore Waitakere).
Section Two Constable Haocheng Li posted to Auckland City District.
Section Three Constable Paul Miller posted to the Central District.
Section Four Constable Scott Tyrrell posted to Northland District.

Wing Patron:

The patron of Wing 210 is Sir Wilson Whineray KNZM, OBE

Sir Wilson Whineray was born in Auckland in 1935. He attended Auckland Grammar where his rugby career began during his two years with the 1st XV.

On leaving school he began training as a farm appraiser with the State Advances Corporation. This involved moving around the country, which enabled him to play representative rugby for several provinces. From 1959 he settled in Auckland, captaining the province when it lifted the Ranfurly Shield from Southland.

All Black selection began in 1957 at the age of 21. He became captain the following year, a role he retained until retiring after the 1965 series against South Africa. In all, Sir Wilson played 77 matches for New Zealand, 32 of them tests. He captained the All Blacks in 30 internationals, only 5 of which were lost.

One time New Zealand University heavyweight boxing champion, Sir Wilson was created an OBE in 1961 for services to sport and was Sportsman of the Year in 1965.

After retiring he coached club rugby in Auckland and Wellington and was appointed a member of the Eden Park Board of Control in 1980, later becoming Chairman. In 1993 he became Chairman of the Hillary Commission and is a life member of the NZ Sports Foundation.

Sir Wilson gained a DipVFM from Lincoln College in 1957, a BCom from Auckland University in 1964 and an MBA from Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration in 1969.

His business career was with Carter Holt Harvey Ltd, where he held a number of management positions. He is now a company director, chair of Carter Holt Harvey Ltd and the National Bank of New Zealand Ltd, and also a director of Auckland International Airport Ltd, AMP, News Media Ltd and Nestles NZ Ltd.

From 1997--2001 Sir Wilson served as Colonel Commandant to 1st NZ SAS.

He received his knighthood in 1998.