Police Prosecution Service

There are over 300 staff (including 212 prosecutors) within the Police Prosecution Service. They are spread between a national office in Wellington and 41 offices throughout the country, servicing over 60 district courts.

Map of PPS offices and district/region boundaries

The Police Prosecution Service:

  • Conducts proceedings for all category 1-3 criminal and traffic prosecutions commenced by Police, from first appearance to disposal, including Case Review and Trial as required (except where the proceeding becomes a Crown Prosecution e.g. jury trials)
  • Conducts proceedings for Youth Court prosecutions
  • advocates for Police at coroners' inquests as required
  • supports Districts at miscellaneous hearings as required
  • administers the Police Adult Diversion Scheme