Wednesday, 27 May 2009 - 4:45pm |
National News

New Constables graduate from Police College tomorrow

3 min read

Seventy-six new constables will graduate from The Royal New Zealand Police College in Wing 256 tomorrow. Their wing patron has been well-known economist, philanthropist and adventurer Dr Gareth Morgan.

Taking the Commissioner's prize for second in wing and the International Police Association prize for academic achievement is Constable Victoria Press of Wellington. Victoria is a former champion rower, having been a member of the NZ under-21 Rowing Academy in 2004 when she won gold in the under-21 Australasian lightweight double. Her rowing partnerships won three gold medals at the NZ Rowing National Championships in 2006.

Victoria has a Bachelor of Social Sciences, specialising in Maori and Pacific development studies from the University of Waikato, and is posted to Porirua.

Constable Dion Kumeroa is a family man and former competitive shearer, who has waited 24 years to fulfil his dream of joining the Police. Turned down at age 19 and told to get some 'life experience', Dion worked as a shearer, then a psychiatric assistant at the former Lake Alice hospital before completing a Bachelor of Nursing degree and working in paediatrics. But that was always just a stepping stone to his ultimate goal.

A natural leader, Dion has been recognised as a role model during his training at Police College and was voted by his section to be awarded a Police Association Prize for making the greatest contribution to the success of the team. Dion is posted to Wanganui.


Graduation will take place at The Royal New Zealand Police College, Papakowhai Rd, Porirua on Thursday 28 May 2009 at 2:00pm. The ceremony will be attended by Acting Police Commissioner Lyn Provost.

76 recruits will graduate - 59 males, 17 females.

The average age of wing members is 28. The youngest is 19 and the oldest is 45.

To find out more about joining the Police, phone 0800 NEW COPS (639 2677) or visit:



Northland - Kerikeri (1), Kaitaia (1)

Waitematâ - Henderson (6), North Shore Policing Centre (4), Orewa (2)

Auckland City - Mt Wellington (4), Avondale (2), Glen Innes (4), Newmarket (1)

Counties-Manukau - Manurewa (4), Papakura (2), Otahuhu (2), Howick (1)

Waikato - Hamilton (6), Thames (1)

Bay of Plenty - Whakatane (1), Tauranga (1)

Eastern - Gisborne (2), Napier (2)

Central - Wanganui (2), Hawera (1), Palmerston North (1)

Wellington - Masterton (2), Upper Hutt (1), Lower Hutt (3), Wellington (4), Porirua (3)

Tasman - Nelson (3), Greymouth (2)

Canterbury - Christchurch (1), Timaru (1)

Southern - Queenstown (2), Gore (2), Invercargill (1)


The Minister's Prize for First in Wing will be awarded to Constable Jason BISHOP, posted to Hamilton.

The Commissioner's Prize for Second in Wing will be awarded to Constable Victoria PRESS, posted to Porirua. Constable PRESS has also won the INTERNATIONAL POLICE ASSOCIATION Academic Prize (for overall academic achievement)

The Patron's Prize for Third in Wing will be awarded to Constable David JAQUES, posted to Mt Wellington.

ERICSSON Practical Prize for the overall winner of practical assessments, file preparation and fingerprinting will be awarded to Constable Nicholas LASCELLES, posted to Hamilton.

The HOLDEN Tactical Skills and Safety Prize (overall winner in defensive tactics, firearms and driving) will be awarded to Constable James WARRENDER, posted to North Shore.

The INTERGRAPH Computer Skills Prize for the overall winner in Computer Studies will be awarded to Constable Benjamin McLAUGHLAN, posted to Avondale.

The Physical Training and Defensive Tactics Award will be presented to Constable William BLACK, posted to Palmerston North. Constable Black has also won a section prize.

The Meltzer Prize for Weapon Training has been won by Constable Andrea FRIZELLE, posted to Mt Wellington.

The Driver Training Award will be presented to Constable Bevan OWEN posted to Gisborne.

Police Association prizes for section achievement

This prize is awarded to an individual from each section who, in the collective view of the members of the section and the wing instructors, made the greatest contribution to the overall success of the team.

Section One Constable William BLACK, posted to Palmerston North

Section Two Constable Dion KUMEROA, posted to Wanganui

Section Three Constable Rachel McBRIDE, posted to Henderson

Section Four Constable Tanya DAVARLE, posted to Henderson




For more information or media wishing to attend the graduation please contact:

Katrina Graham, Communications Adviser - 04 238 3572 or 0274 419 216