Iwi liaison officers

Translate into Māori

Police has a group of iwi liaison officers who help navigate cultural issues and work on improving police relationships with Māori. The group is made up of police officers and police employees, based in every police district in the country.

Iwi liaison officers are involved in:

  • giving advice on cultural issues, such as helping both sides understand the procedures and protocols of the other when a sudden death happens
  • helping local police work with iwi and whanau on preventing crime, crashes and victimisation
  • providing leadership for special events such as Waitangi Day and Māori cultural events
  • dealing with the cultural aspects of major incidents like the Canterbury earthquakes
  • helping with major criminal investigations involving Māori.

Becoming an iwi liaison officer

Becoming an iwi liaison officer is a rewarding and satisfying way of serving Māori, your community and especially rangatahi. It means you can use your cultural skills to make a real difference.

There are two ways to become an iwi liaison officer.

  • You can become a police officer. The advantage is that you will bring an understanding of policing to the role. Visit the Police website New Cops.
  • You can join Police as a civilian employee. You will learn what you need to know about policing from training and on the job. See the Police Jobs pages.

It's desirable if you know Te Reo and Tikanga Māori. A strong interest in helping to reduce crime, crashes and victimisation among Māori also helps. You will need to be mature and undergo a police vetting check.

Contact details of iwi liaison officers

Northland District

Pouwhirinaki – Māori Responsiveness Manager (District)
Inspector Riki Whiu (relieving)
roderick.whiu@police.govt.nz

Far North

Kaitakawaenga, Iwi Liaison Officer
Constable Roger Dephoff ‎ (relieving)
roger.dephoff@police.govt.nz

Mid North

Kaitakawaenga, Iwi Liaison Officer
Senior Constable Paul Tipene
paul.tipene@police.govt.nz

Whangarei

Kaitakawaenga, Iwi Liaison Officer
Senior Constable Mario Kake
mario.kake@police.govt.nz

Kaipara

Kaitakawaenga - Iwi Liaison Officer
‎Senior Constable Phil Kahotea
phillip.kahotea@police.govt.nz

 

Waitematā District

Pouwhirinaki – Māori Responsiveness Manager (District)
Inspector Stefan McIntyre
Stefan.mcintyre@police.govt.nz

Pouwhakarite – Māori Responsiveness Advisor (District)
Senior Sergeant Todd Bartlett
Todd.Bartlett@police.govt.nz

Waitematā North

Kaitakawaenga – Iwi Liaison Officer
Detective Debra Brewer
Debra.brewer@police.govt.nz

Waitematā West

Kaitakawaenga – Iwi Liaison Officer
Senior Constable William Wharerau
William.wharerau@police.govt.nz

 

Auckland City District

Pouwhirinaki – Māori Responsiveness Manager (District)
Senior Sergeant Ivan Sarich
Ivan.Sarich@police.govt.nz

Pouwhakataki - Iwi Liaison Coordinator
Sergeant Tama Morehu
tama.morehu@police.govt.nz

 

Counties Manukau District

Pouwhakarite – Māori Responsiveness Advisor (District/Acting)
Constable Regan Tamihere
Regan.Tamihere@Police.govt.nz

Pouwhakataki - Iwi Liaison Coordinator
Sergeant John Hughes
john.hughes@police.govt.nz

Kaitakawaenga – Iwi Liaison Officer
Constable Merihera Tipene, Kaitakawaenga
merihera.tipene@police.govt.nz  

Kaitakawaenga – Iwi Liaison Officer
Constable Joseph Hammon
Joseph.Hammon@police.govt.nz

 

Waikato District

Pouwhirinaki – Māori Responsiveness Manager (District)
Inspector Frank Grant
Frank.Grant@police.govt.nz

Hauraki (Thames Coromandel in Waikato East Area)
Kaitakawaenga, Iwi Liaison Officer
Senior Constable Arama Chase
Arama.Chase@police.govt.nz

Maniapoto and Raukawa (Te Awamutu to Piopio in Waikato West Area)
Kaitakawaenga, Iwi Liaison Officer
Senior Constable Steven Rickards
Steven.Rickards@police.govt.nz

Waikato Tainui (Raglan to Te Kauwhata in Waikato West Area)
Kaitakawaenga, Iwi Liaison Officer
Destry Murphy – Waikato Tainui
Destry.Murphy@police.govt.nz

Hamilton City and District Recruiting
Kaitakawaenga, Iwi Liaison Officer
Kimiora Corness
Kimiora.Corness@police.govt.nz

Matamata Piako in Waikato East Area
Kaitakawaenga, Iwi Liaison Officer
Ben Muriwai- Ngati Haua
Ben.Muriwai@police.govt.nz

 

Bay of Plenty District

Pouwhirinaki – Māori Responsiveness Manager (District)
Inspector Phillip Taikato
Phillip.Taikato@police.govt.nz

Rotorua

Kaitakawaenga – Iwi Liaison Officer
Sergeant Lehi Hohaia
Lehi.Hohaia@police.govt.nz  

Kaitakawaenga – Iwi Liaison Officer
Joshua Kalan
Joshua.Kalan@police.govt.nz

Kaitakawaenga – Iwi Liaison Officer
Constable Gregory A Clark
Gregory.clark2@police.govt.nz

Tauranga

Kaitakawaenga, Iwi Liaison Officer
Senior Constable Greg Clark
Gregory.Clark2@police.govt.nz

Pouwhakataki - Gang & Drug Harm Reduction Coordinator (District)
Sergeant Damian White
damian.white@police.govt.nz

 

Eastern District

Pouwhirinaki – Māori Responsiveness Manager (District)
Inspector Damin Ormsby
Damin.ormsby@police.govt.nz

Hawke’s Bay

Pouwhakataki, Iwi Liaison Coordinator
Sergeant Philip Rowden
Philip.rowden@police.govt.nz

Tairāwhiti

Pouwhakataki, Iwi Liaison Coordinator
Sergeant Robert Rutene
Robert.rutene@police.govt.nz

Kaitakawaenga – Iwi Liaison Officer
Senior Constable Jamie Hutana
Jamie.hutana@police.govt.nz

Kaitakawaenga – Iwi Liaison Officer
Constable Yvonne Tremain
Yvonne.tremain@police.govt.nz

 

Central District

Pouwhirinaki – Māori Responsiveness Manager (District)
Inspector Clifford Brown
clifford.brown@police.govt.nz

Taranaki

Pouwhakarite – Māori Responsiveness Advisor
Senior Sergeant Darin Haenga
Darin.haenga@police.govt.nz

Pouwhakataki: Iwi Liaison Coordinator
Sergeant Kayanna Holley
kayanna.holley@police.govt.nz

Whanganui

Pouwhakataki: Iwi Liaison Coordinator
Sergeant Katrina Moore
katrina.moore@police.govt.nz

Pouwhakataki: Iwi Liasion Coordinator
Constable Anna Reti
Anna.reti@police.govt.nz

Manawatu

Pouwhakataki: Iwi Liaison Coordinator
Sergeant Nick Lawton
nicholas.lawton@police.govt.nz

Pouwhakataki: Iwi Liaison Coordinator
Senior Constable Terry Moore
terry.moore@police.govt.nz

 

Wellington District

Pouwhirinaki, Māori Responsiveness Manager (District)
Inspector Dion Bennett
Dion.Bennett@police.govt.nz  

Pouwhakataki, Iwi Liaison Coordinator
Te Roera Puna
teroera.puna@police.govt.nz

Pouwhakataki, Iwi Liaison Coordinator
Joseph Harwood
joseph.harwood@police.govt.nz

Pouwhakataki, Iwi Liaison Coordinator
Constable Michelle Brough
michelle.brough@police.govt.nz

Pouwhakataki, Iwi Liaison Coordinator
Sergeant Aroha Morehu
aroha.morehu@police.govt.nz

 

Tasman District

Pouwhirinaki, Māori Responsiveness Manager (District)
Inspector Dexter Traill
dexter.traill@police.govt.nz

Pouwhakarite, Māori Responsiveness Advisor (District)
Sergeant Andrea Williams
andrea.williams@police.govt.nz

Pouwhakataki: Iwi Liaison Coordinator
Sergeant Steve Mariu
stephen.mariu@police.govt.nz

  

Canterbury District

Pouwhirinaki –Manager: Māori, Pacific & Ethnic (District)
Inspector Hirone Waretini 
hirone.waretini@police.govt.nz

Pouwhakarite – Māori Responsiveness Advisor (District)
Senior Sergeant Paul Reeves
paul.reeves@police.govt.nz

Kaitakawaenga – Iwi Liasion Officer
Constable Peter Rameka
Peter.rameka@police.govt.nz

 

Southern District

Pouwhirinaki, Māori Responsiveness Manager (District)
Inspector Damion Rangitutia
damion.rangitutia@police.govt.nz

Otago Coastal

Kaitakawaenga, Iwi Liaison Officer
Senior Constable Senior Constable Toni Wall
Toni.Wall@police.govt.nz

Southland / Otago Lakes

Kaitakawaenga, Iwi Liaison Officer
Constable Simon Kairau
simon.kairau@police.govt.nz