school banner graphic

Kia Kaha (for years 11-13)

Through Kia Kaha students develop strategies for respectful relationships where bullying behaviours are not tolerated.

The New Zealand Police recommends that schools use the learning activities in Kia Kaha within a whole-school approach. Before running learning activities, please read information about implementing a whole-school approach as described in an implementation booklet (PDF, 1.4MB).

What students will learn

These year 11–13 resources will help students to learn:

  • a range of personal skills to prevent bullying
  • what they can do if they have been or are being affected by bullying behaviour
  • actions they can take to prevent bullying in the community.

Six focus areas

Kia kaha (years 11–13) includes six focus areas plus a bank of 24 ideas for additional learning activities.

Focus area 1: Bullying revisited

Students demonstrate an awareness of bullying in schools and society.

Focus area 2: Societal bullying

Students identify examples of societal bullying reported in the newspaper and suggest changes to overcome this.

Focus area 3: Rights and responsibilities

Students recognise their own and others’ rights and responsibilities to minimise the risk of bullying.

Focus area 4: Deciding on strategies

Students plan strategies and demonstrate interpersonal skills for responding to bullying situations.

Focus area 5: Cyberbullying

Students describe the misuse of information communications technology and have strategies to minimise the risk.

Focus area 6: An action planning process for years 11–13

Students take actions to create a safe school environment.

Activity bank