Northland Police District

Northland District is divided into two areas that cover 12,844 square km from Kaiwaka to Cape Reinga.

View larger map of Northland police district in pop up box.

The Whangarei/Kaipara Area stretches from Whangarei to Kaiwaka, across to Dargaville and Kawakawa.

The Far North Area starts at Kawakawa and stretches along both coastlines to Cape Reinga.

While Northland District is the second smallest in the country after Tasman, its geographical spread and many remote areas bring unique policing challenges.

For District staffing figures please refer to the Annual Report which can be found on the Publications and Statistics page.

Northland District news

See the latest news from Northland District.

Social media

Northland Police District Facebook page


Find a police station in Northland district

For all media enquiries please contact: Police Media Team

Neighbourhood Policing Teams (NPTs)

Neighbourhood Policing Teams aim to reduce crime, prevent victimisation, improve perceptions of safety and increase trust and confidence in Police. Their efforts are concentrated in their identified priority neighbourhoods.

Find out more about Neighbourhood Policing Teams, or contact your local Police station to find out if there is a local NPT in your area.

Commanders and headquarters

District Commander: Superintendent Tony Hill
District Headquarters:  88 Cameron Street, Whangarei

Area commanders and headquarters

Whangarei/Kaipara area

Area Commander: Inspector Martyn Ruth
Headquarters: Whangarei Central Police Station
P 105

Far North area

Commander: Inspector Riki Whiu
Headquarters: Kerikeri Police Station
P 105

More information

Northland Police is a member of the Northland Intersectoral Forum (NIF), a group of government and some non-government agencies, whose aim is to work together for the wellbeing of Northlanders.