Waikato Police District

The Waikato Police District covers the area between Te Kauwhata in the north, Benneydale in the south, Raglan to the west and the Coromandel Peninsula to the east.

View larger map of Waikato police district in pop up box.

Whether it's policing Hamilton's city streets or keeping diverse rural communities between the southern King Country and the tip of the Coromandel safe, Police in Waikato are committed to taking the lead in making our District a safer and more enjoyable place to live.

We maintain close links with our communities as we work towards our goals of community reassurance, policing with confidence and organisational development.

For district staffing figures please refer to the Annual Report which can be found on the Publications and Statistics page.

Waikato District news

See the latest news from Waikato District.

Social media

Waikato Police District Facebook page


Find a police station in Waikato district

For all media enquiries please contactPolice Media Team

Neighbourhood Policing Teams (NPTs)

These teams aim to reduce crime, prevent victimisation, improve perceptions of safety and increase trust and confidence in Police. Their efforts are concentrated in their identified priority neighbourhoods.

Find out more about Neighbourhood Policing Teams, or contact your local Police station to find out if there is a local NPT in your area.

Commanders and headquarters

District Commander: Superintendent Bruce Bird
District Headquarters: Hamilton Central Police Station

Area commanders and headquarters

Hamilton City area

Commander: Inspector Andrea McBeth
Headquarters: Hamilton Police Station
P 105

Waikato Western area

Commander: Inspector William Loughrin
Headquarters: Huntly Police Station
P 105

Waikato Eastern area

Commander: Inspector Michael Henwood
Headquarters: Thames Police Station

P 105

More information

The Waikato Police District is recognised for its innovative approach involving partnerships to achieve the community's goal of reducing re-offending.

Examples of this include the design and implementation of the Nga Tai Tamahine o Kirikiriroa course in Hamilton. This identifies what it is that triggers girls' anger, by using weekends away that include activities such as caving and rope climbing, and involves a partnership between the Taiohi Toa Trust and the Ministry of Social Development.

The nationally implemented anti-truancy programme 'Rock-On' was designed and implemented in Hamilton and aims to keep young people off the streets and in schools. In the King Country a partnership between Police, Ministry of Health, Alcohol Advisory Council and rugby clubs targeting drink driving has been recognised as a national leader. It is being adopted in a number of other provincial areas.