Woolf Fisher Police Fellowship Programme

2020 Fellows pictured: (back row from left) Senior Sergeant Ross Ellwood, Inspector Virginia Welch, Anne Hutchinson, Senior Constable Garry Boles, Senior Constable Duanne Deere, Senior Constable John Tangaere, Inspector Roderick Whiu, Senior Constable Michael Chelley; (front row from left) Gary Mitchell, Ingrid Adamczyk, Senior Constable Bryan Ward, Sir Noel Robinson, Commissioner of Police Mike Bush, Sergeant Bridget Martin, Julie Mathews, Maura Long


The Woolf Fisher Police Fellowship programme (established in September 2017) awards up to 15 constabulary and non-constabulary employees each year for their excellence and dedication to New Zealand Police with a certificate and funding for international travel and study.

The primary purpose of the Fellowship is to promote better and more efficient policing for the benefit of our communities. The Fellowship provides funding to cover travel, study and associated costs of the fellow and an accompanying spouse or partner (if any). Fellows' study may include observation of policing practices in overseas jurisdictions or participation in a pre-agreed course of study (or both), and they are required to report back on their learning on their return.

2020 Fellows

  • Ingrid Adamczyk, RNZPC
  • Senior Constable Garry Boles, Counties Manukau
  • Senior Constable Michael Chelley, Bay of Plenty
  • Senior Constable Duanne Deere, Auckland City
  • Senior Sergeant Ross Ellwood, Counties Manukau
  • Anne Hutchinson, Northland
  • Detective Inspector Rhys Johnston, Northland
  • Maura Long, Canterbury
  • Sergeant Bridget Martin, Southern
  • Julie Mathews, PNHQ
  • Gary Mitchell, Wellington
  • Senior Constable John Tangaere, PNHQ
  • Senior Constable Bryan Ward, Waitematā
  • Inspector Virginia Welch, PNHQ
  • Inspector Roderick Whiu, Northland

2019 Fellows

  • Penny Clevely, Police National Headquarters
  • Detective Sergeant Jon Gower, Northland
  • Detective Sergeant Brad Greenstreet, Canterbury
  • Detective Sergeant Murray Free, Waitematā
  • Asher Hauwaho, Wellington
  • Tracey Hawkins, Eastern
  • Constable Jason Herring, Bay of Plenty
  • Constable Simon Kairau, Southern
  • Inspector Bronwyn Marshall, Police National Headquarters
  • Sergeant Deane McEntee, Auckland
  • Senior Constable Terri Middleton, Tasman
  • Senior Sergeant Lyle Norriss, Auckland
  • Senior Sergeant Sharon Price, Counties Manukau
  • Inspector Andrew Sloan, Eastern
  • Sergeant Jarod Walsh, Waikato

2018 Fellows

  • Sergeant Bernadette Boyle-Tiatia, Eastern
  • Constable Aaron Campbell, Canterbury
  • Senior Constable Richard Collier, Waikato
  • Detective Senior Sergeant Jacqueline Corner, Tasman
  • Sergeant Scott Dixon, Counties Manukau
  • Senior Constable Atawhai Henare, Northland
  • Senior Constable Rowena Jones, Northland
  • Ms Ashleigh Lowe, Counties Manukau
  • Senior Sergeant Caroline Martin, Wellington
  • Inspector Chris McLellan, Northland
  • Ms Gabrielle Quirke, Central
  • Inspector Kelly Ryan, Police National Headquarters
  • Mr David Scott, Police National Headquarters
  • Senior Constable Blair Spalding, Waikato
  • Ms Denise Tizard, Police National Headquarters

For more information, go to the Woolf Fisher Trust website.