Major Event

Whakaari/White Island eruption

Latest news

Media releases

September 2011

Thursday 8 September 2011

Work to identify earthquake victims completed

June 2011

Wednesday 1 June 2011

5 more earthquake victims named

April 2011

Wednesday 20 April 2011

Vehicle operation transfers to Christchurch City Council

Tuesday 19 April 2011

Police wrap up vehicle recovery operation

Saturday 16 April 2011

Police reassurance patrols checking rockfalls

Friday 15 April 2011

Vehicle Recovery Winds Down

Top

Tuesday 12 April 2011

Police seek owners for final few vehicles

Saturday 9 April 2011

Message for those waiting for car from CBD

Thursday 7 April 2011

Name released following Christchurch earthquake

Wednesday 6 April 2011

Additional name released following Christchurch earthquake

Monday 4 April 2011

Additional name released following Christchurch earthquake

Saturday 2 April 2011

Vehicle Recovery from the Christchurch CDB

Christchurch CBD security

Friday 1 April 2011

Operation Earthquake - hundreds of vehicles recovered in past day

Top

March 2011

Thursday 31 March 2011

Police begin retrieving vehicles from Farmers car park in Christchurch

Letters boost morale of earthquake workers

Wednesday 30 March 2011

Three more names released following Christchurch earthquake

Safety first for heavy vehicle movements in Christchurch

Tuesday 29 March 2011

Police need more car keys for vehicles left in Christchurch CBD

Monday 28 March 2011

Increased enforcement of Christchurch CBD cordons

Saturday 26 March 2011

Five further names released following Christchurch earthquake

Christchurch Vehicle Recovery Operation hits halfway point

Friday 25 March 2011

Two further names released following Christchurch earthquake

Christchurch Vehicle Recovery - opening hours, Friday 25 March

Top

Thursday 24 March 2011

Four further names released following Christchurch earthquake

Suggested route - key drop-off, Vehicle Recovery Operation, Christchurch

Wednesday 23 March 2011

Seven more names released following Christchurch earthquake

Recovery of vehicles from Lichfield St Carpark starts today

Tuesday 22 March 2011

Advisory: Media invited to official thanking of Australian police contingent

Police name employee killed in earthquake

Two names released following Christchurch earthquake

Vehicles to be recovered from Lichfield car parking building

Monday 21 March 2011

Police warning about deliberate cordon breaches

Vehicle recovery teams make good progress

Sunday 20 March 2011

Recovery of vehicles from CBD

Friday 18 March 2011

Four names released following Christchurch earthquake

Recovery of vehicles from CBD this weekend

Top

Thursday 17 March 2011

Two further names released following Christchurch earthquake

Recovery of vehicles from The Crossing and Bedford Row car parks

Important keys stolen with vehicle

Recovery of vehicles from Rydges car park this evening

CBD streets almost clear of abandoned vehicles

Wednesday 16 March 2011

11 names released following Christchurch earthquake

Recovery of vehicles from Manchester Street car park this evening

Tuesday 15 March 2011

Three carparks deemed too unsafe for vehicle recovery

Be safe and responsible when you drink

Further names released following Canterbury Earthquake

Ceremonial blessing of sites a time for grief and healing

Recovery of vehicles from 101 Victoria Square car park this evening

Vehicle recovery site now up and running

Monday 14 March 2011

Driving behaviour on Canterbury roads disappoints

Further names released following Christchurch Earthquake

Top

Sunday 13 March 2011

Car park at 101 Victoria Square will be cleared on Tuesday

Steady progress with vehicle recovery

Take care around schools in Christchurch

Four more names released in Christchurch earthquake

Watch your alcohol intake

Saturday 12 March 2011

10 additional names of deceased confirmed

Christchurch Police ask for patience from vehicle owners

Friday 11 March 2011

Six additional names of deceased confirmed

Police confirm 14 additional names of deceased

Thursday 10 March 2011

Police confirm latest 12 names of deceased

Correction to spelling of Christchurch earthquake victim's name

Christchurch Police targeting alcohol, disorder and driving

Police release additional names of deceased

Recovery of vehicles begins from Christchurch CBD

Police pay tribute to Australian contingent leaving Christchurch

Wednesday 9 March 2011

Police release eight more names of deceased

Wellington District Police adopt Cantabrian World War II veteran

MEDIA ADVISORY: Media invited to official thanking of Australian Police contingent

MEDIA ADVISORY: Victoria Police assist student army in earthquake clean up

Top

Tuesday 8 March 2011

Police release more names of deceased Tuesday 8th March

Monday 7 March 2011

Police release more names

Sunday 6 March 2011

Police release names of 15 earthquake victims

Drivers clogging central city in Christchurch

Lyttelton Police Station will keep operating

Disaster Victim Identification teams in for the long haul

Police Keeping A Close Watch For Potential Flooding

Saturday 5 March 2011

Police release more earthquake victim names

Friday 4 March 2011

Family liaison officers motivated to get job done accurately and in a timely fashion

Eagle eye over Christchurch

Police release more names

Drivers flouting the law in Christchurch

Top

Thursday 3 March 2011

Media Advisory: NSW Police Commissioner available for interviews this afternoon

Who needs a day off when you can help out a mate?

Police confirm death of two from Israel

Wednesday 2 March 2011

Rescue operation disrupted by high winds

Emotional family visit to CBD

Australian Police blown away by Kiwi's 'volunteeriness'

Three more names released - confirmed death toll 159

Karakia helps workers with emotional toll

Thai DVI team arrives to assist in identifying Christchurch quake victims

Trans-Tasman Police assistance goes full circle

Friends reunited after 17 years during reassurance patrols in Lyttleton

Tuesday 1 March 2011

Death toll rises

5000 Christchurch residents arrive in Timaru

Police mark seven days since quake

Number of confirmed dead remains unchanged

Controlled felling

Christchurch earthquake - 154 now confirmed dead

Top

February 2011

Monday 28 February 2011

Sumner roads open

Christchurch earthquake - revision of access points

Earthquake death toll remains unchanged

Evacuation in the Redcliffs - Clifton area: Community meeting at 5pm

More names released

Community rallies around in police officer's street

Christchurch earthquake - Reminder of cordon access 

Sunday 27 February 2011

Suburban patrollers there to help

Two more names expected tomorrow

Gift of solidarity from colleagues

Police working hard on identification

Looter confesses to "scary" Australian cops

Media Advisory: Update on cordon access in Christchurch CBD

Top

Saturday 26 February 2011

Police meet with families as death toll hits 145

Christchurch central city is no place for rubber-necking

Media Advisory - new access point for media

Cordon access point closed due to unstable building

Normal policing continues

Death toll of 123 expected to climb

Media bus tour - today 2pm

Cultural needs of victims being addressed

Christchurch earthquake - cordons needs to be respected

Friday 25 February 2011

Revised access to Art Gallery for inter-agency media briefings

Names of two further victims released in Christchurch Earthquake

Caution urged on Canterbury roads

Official death toll rises as search and rescue operation continues

Corrected spelling of a victim's name

Kapiti Police warn of fraudster claiming to be a Christchurch earthquake victim

Correction to age of earthquake victim

Police media briefing Christchuch at 10.30am today

Overwhelming generosity from community

Bogus officials in Christchurch

Death toll passes 100

Top

Thursday 24 February 2011

Media access to central city

Extension of restricted airspace over Christchurch

First earthquake victims identified

DVI process explained

Latest media advisory on access to restricted areas in Christchurch city - update

Updated Media Advisory: on access to the restricted areas in Christchurch city

Media Advisory: Release of lists of dead and injured

Media Advisory: Media access to central Christchurch city restricted

Advise friends and the authorities if you are safe

Media Advisory: Media conference and filming in Christchurch

Christchurch earthquake - Work resumes at CTV building

Christchurch earthquake - Take care of one another

Wednesday 23 February 2011

Media advisory: Enforcement of Christchurch cordon restrictions from 6:30pm

Police to impose overnight restrictions

Cordon enforcement policy

Australian police contingent to assist local police

Death toll reaches 75

Media Advisory - Time change for escorted media tour in Christchurch city

Media Advisory - Escorted media access to central Christchurch sites 10:45am today

National Police response continues to support Christchurch rescue effort

Advisory: Media and cordons

People still being pulled alive from buildings

Number for international callers now activated

Top

Tuesday 22 February 2011

Phone line set up to report people missing after quake

Media advisory: cellphone number for all media calls to Christchurch Police

Police reinforcements to help with Christchurch Earthquake response

BoP Police to send staff to Christchurch

Number of fatalities rise from Christchurch earthquake

Additional Police staff heading to Christchurch

Police response to Christchurch Earthquake

Major earthquake in Christchurch 

For further information please contact:
Ministry of Civil Defence
Public Information Duty Officer
P 04 494 6951
E pim@ncmc.govt.nz
www.civildefence.govt.nz

Top